Vote Up 0 Vote Down

what are the countries bordering the indian ocean

What are the details about Indian Ocean ?

Where is the Indian Ocean is located ? What are the countries near to it ? How large is that ?


Vote Up 0 Vote Down
Indian Ocean is the third largest ocean in the world, occupying about 20% of the world's surface. Of up to 8047 meters deep Indian Ocean is a 74.9 million sq km area (approximately 14.7% of the Earth) is the third largest ocean in the world. It borders on the Antarctic Ocean, the African, Asian and Australian continents and has a volume of about 291.9 million km3. In contrast to the Atlantic Ocean and the Pacific Ocean, extending to relatively equal proportions on both the northern and the southern hemisphere of the earth, the vast majority of the Indian Ocean lies in the Southern Hemisphere.

Within the Indian Ocean and on the sea floor, there is a high and fairly elongated mid-ocean ridge, many lower thresholds, ocean basins, deep-sea trenches and various sea lows.

At the mid-ocean ridge is part of the Central Indian ridge, which runs about half from north to south by the ocean. Among the deep-sea trenches belongs the 7455 m deep to Sunda Trench to the sea Diamantinatief the lows, with the 8047 m below sea level the lowest point of the Indian Ocean.

In the Indian Ocean are the politically independent island nations Indonesia, Madagascar and Sri Lanka. Independent island groups are the Comoros (the French overseas department of Mayotte), the Seychelles and the Maldives.

The Socotra archipelago is part of the Republic of Yemen. The island of Zanzibar (including Pemba) part of Tanzania. The Indian union territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands are the island of the same groups Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The Lakshadweep islands and amine divas and the Minicoy Island form the Indian Union Territory of Lakshadweep.

The Chagos Archipelago to the main island of Diego Garcia is the last British Indian Ocean Territory. The island of Ko Phuket is one of Thailand.

Australia lies in Christmas Island, the Cocos Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands and the Ashmore and Cartier Islands.

More to the Indian Ocean islands are owned by the counting of the French Southern and Antarctic Territories Kerguelen.

There had a devastating earthquake in the Indian Ocean, the 26 to Occurred in December 2004. It was the strength of 9.2 on the Richter scale. The epicenter was in the sea, near the north-western tip of Sumatra. The giant tsunami triggered by the quake caused more than 300,000 deaths. Mainly affected countries were Indonesia, Thailand, India and Sri Lanka. The waves reached but even the 5200 km distant Somalia.
flag | link |

Your Answer

Login before answering

Login with facebook